The Commissioners

There are 34 Commissioners. Further Commissioners may join as needs arise. The full list is:

Montek Singh Ahluwalia
Former Deputy Chair, Indian Planning Commission

John Allen
President, the Brookings Institution, Washington DC, former US Marine Corps 4-Star General and NATO ISAF Commander

Pedro Aspe
Former Finance Minister of Mexico

Jacques Attali
Economics professor, author and special adviser to French presidents

Emma Bonino
Italian senator and former foreign minister and EU Commissioner

Steven Chu
Nobel Prize in Physics, former US Secretary of Energy, now Stanford professor of both physics and physiology

André Hoffmann
Vice-Chair, Roche Holding

Hailemariam Desalegn
Former Prime Minister of Ethiopia

Yoichi Funabashi
Former editor-in-chief, Asahi Shimbun, founder and chairman Asia Pacific Initiative

Lynda Gratton
London Business School professor, authority on the future of work and organizational leadership

Hanna Halaburda
NYU Stern School expert on how digital technology affects strategy, markets, networks and currencies

Francois Heisbourg
Eminent French and global strategist

Olivia Judson
Evolutionary biologist, Imperial College London and Free University of Berlin; author forthcoming history of life and the Earth

Daniel Kahneman
Nobel Prize in Economics 2002, for his work on decision-making under uncertainty

Walter Kielholz
Honorary Chairman, Swiss Re

Kiyoshi Kurokawa
Professor of Medicine and Chair, Health and Global Policy Institute, Tokyo

Eric X Li
Chinese venture capitalist and influential commentator

Beverley McLachlin
Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Canada, 2000-17

Trevor Manuel
Former finance minister of South Africa

Federica Mogherini
Rector of College of Europe, former EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, former Italian foreign minister

Siddhartha Mukherjee
Medical authority, writer, author of “The Emperor of all Maladies”

Tolullah Oni
Nigerian urban epidemiologist, NextEinstein Fellow, now at Cambridge University

Jim Rogers
Noted investor, co-founder (with George Soros) of the Quantum Fund

Norbert Röttgen
Chairman of the German Bundestag’s Committee on Foreign Affairs

Pardis Sabeti
Biologist and geneticist, Harvard/MIT Broad Institute

Simon Schama
Professor of History and Art History, Columbia University

Masaaki Shirakawa
Former Governor, Bank of Japan

Timothy Snyder
Yale professor of history, specialist on central and Eastern Europe

Michael Spence
Nobel Prize in Economics 2001, Professor Emeritus in Management, Stanford

Audrey Tang
Taiwan Cabinet Minister for Digital, Innovation and Youth Affairs

Alvaro Vargas-Llosa
Peruvian-Spanish author and public intellectual

Amos Yadlin
Former head of Israel’s Institute for National Security Studies.

Michael Zantovsky
Ambassador, Executive Director of Vaclav Havel Library